Braakman group

Scientific Staff

Ineke Braakman
+31 30 253 2759
i.braakman@uu.nl
Office: O.705
Full professor


Bertrand Kleizen
+31 30 253 2490
b.kleizen@uu.nl
Office: O.702
Assistant professor


Adabella van der Zand

a.vanderzand@uu.nl


Postdoctoral researchers

Priyanka Sahasrabudhe
+31 30 253 3354
p.j.sahasrabudhe@uu.nl
Office: O.701

I aim to discover the mode of action of novel corrector drugs developed to rescue cell surface function of CFTR and gain more insight into how mutations and cellular factors affect protein folding.


Dragana Vidovic
+31 30 253 3601
d.vidovic@uu.nl
Office: O.706

I want to identify molecular chaperones that are involved in folding of CFTR’s NBD1 domain, the location of the most common disease-causing mutation (F508del), and how they assist with NBD1 folding.


Magda Grudniewska
+31 30 253 4105
m.k.grudniewska@uu.nl
Office: O.707

I am investigating how does the regulation of translation processes (e.g. RNA motifs, translation speed control) influence CFTR folding and, consequently, CFTR functioning.


PhD candidates

Ying Yeoh
+31 30 253 3354
h.y.yeoh@uu.nl
Office: O.701

My aim is to identify intramembrane interaction partners of CFTR and how these are involved in chaperoning and quality control of folding of the transmembrane region of CFTR.


Marjolein Mijnders
+31 30 253 3601
m.mijnders@uu.nl
Office: O.706


I study the folding and misfolding of CFTR and the effects of potential therapeutics on its folding/misfolding to aid in the development of transformative therapies.


Laura Tadé
+31 30 253 3752
l.tade@uu.nl
Office: O.709


I want to know whether CFTR is only active at the cell surface or also in other cell compartments and when/where it acquires the structure that allows its function.


Marcel van Willigen
+31 30 253 4105
m.vanwilligen@uu.nl
Office: O.707


My research focuses on investigating CFTR folding using Cystic Fibrosis patient mutations, providing insights into how wild-type protein folds and how the respective patient mutants misfold.


Tamara Hillenaar
+31 30 253 3354
m.j.h.hillenaar@uu.nl
Office: O.701

The aim of my research is to determine for each CFTR2 disease-causing mutant to which available (pre)clinical drugs they respond at the CFTR protein level.


Technicians

Floor Peters
+31 30 253 3601
f.m.a.peters@uu.nl
Office: O.706

I work on elucidating the mode of action of compounds that affect CFTR folding, to understand mechanisms of these compounds and their potential benefits for Cystic Fibrosis patients.


Danny Schildknegt
+31 30 253 3841
d.schildknegt@uu.nl
Office: O.710

I am interested in a set of small endoplasmic reticulum localized chaperones, called the canopy family and their role in proteins folding, B cell differentiation and antibody secretion.


Guus van Zadelhoff
+31 30 253 3752
g.vanzadelhoff@uu.nl
Office: O.709

I develop/modify analysis techniques to study protein folding of model oxidative proteins and folding factors, in vivo and in vitro by short and long radioactive metabolic labelling.

Students

Erik Slot

Guests

Maarten Egmond

m.r.egmond@uu.nl